Quarantine Machine 3

Introduction

I keep cycling through playing different lists against the usual opponent, but this time I’m not even playing Asphyxious the Sanctified! This time, I wanted to try out some different jank.

https://conflictchamber.com/?c4201b_-1U373a1f1f2Ai2oR2k2k2koNoNh-h_73bB
Cryx
[Theme] Dark Host
[Scaverous 1] Lord Exhumator Scaverous [+27]
– Erebus [16]
– Nightwretch [7]
– Nightwretch [7]
– Skarlock Thrall [4]
Bane Lord Tartarus [0(6)]
Hermit of Henge Hold [5]
Machine Wraith [0(2)]
Machine Wraith [0(2)]
Machine Wraith [0(2)]
Void Archon [8]
Void Archon [8]
Bane Warriors (max) [16]
– Bane Warrior Officer & Standard [0(5)]
Croe’s Cutthroats (max) [16]
Wraith Engine [15]

VS

https://conflictchamber.com/?c6201b_-2ppUdndBnSoRpMoNoNpz1hpNpNpvq6
Mercenaries
[Theme] Strange Bedfellows
[Aurora 1] Aurora, the Numen of Aerogenesis [+29]
– Conservator [12]
– Corollary [0(6)]
– Swabber [13]
Hermit of Henge Hold [5]
Prefect Hypatia [5]
Void Archon [8]
Void Archon [8]
Asphyxious the Sanctified [14]
– Stalker [8]
Negation Angels [0(6)]
Negation Angels [0(6)]
Artificer Prime Nemo [18]
– Toro [13]

Battle

I actually took pictures! I lose the roll, again, and pick the side where I have a wall to protect whatever solo will be scoring my flag.

Next to the usual running on turn 1, my opponent puts up Admonition on the Conservator and Arcane Might on herself, while also providing Aerogenesis. Nemo, of course, puts up Lightning Shroud and Watcher.
I prey one of the Void Archons with the Cutthroats and move up gingerly. Death Ward is on Erebus and Soul Harvester on the Warriors, you never know, right?

bottom of 1

Turn 2 sees my opponent using the crane on the Steelhead that Nemo brought to push a Void Archon closer who kills 3 out of the 4 Banes he sprays and ports back. One of the units of Angels also kills a few models and then stands around in the middle zone. Asphyxious floats forward a bit and extends his cloud wall to the right of the obstruction, keeping most of his army safe.
My turn I notice an offer I can’t refuse, so I drop Soul Harvester, upkeeping Death Ward. I can run a Nightwretch to the back zone to cast Telekinesis at Asphyxious and put him in the clouds, which would allow a few Banes and the Wraith Engine to get to him. Thus it shall be done.
The arc node runs, his Conservator uses Admonition to get in the way. I feat because I need to get shit done. I TK the Conservator out of the way and Gaspy forward, as planned, then land Icy Grip on the Angels in my face, throw the Swabber out of the zone so I can score and cast 1 more TK to get an extra Bane in range. Then I move to the edge of the killbox and bunker behind Erebus and an Archon, because one of his Archons could actually get to me, yes from the other side of the table.
Tartarus moves up to provide Veteran Leader and the Skarlock gets another Bane in range. Luckily my opponent had boxed in his Toro so I didn’t need to worry about Watcher or Counter Charge. 4 Banes charge, 2 miss, one hit got foretold by the Hermit and thus negated and 1 caused Gaspy to burn his 1 focus. I need to send in my Wraith Engine who does actually finish the job.
The Cutthroats gets into the back arcs of Angels and murderize them, then use their Reposition to move up aggressively. Machine Wraiths are positioned so he has to hopefully spread his magical attacks.
I score 0-3, which is not half bad

bottom of 2

Aurora feats and gets ready to kick some ass. The Hermit casually flies over the obstruction to project Master of Ruin. The Wraith Engine dies to the Toro, some Angels and Hypathia, after I spent my own Mad Visions. Asphyxious’s Servitors are now mad and each kill a Bane. The middle Void Archon is on fire and when the dust settles, the kill count is 2 Banes, Tartarus and the Nightwretch I thought was safely behind the cloud.
My outer Machine Wraiths died to Aurora and Void Archon respectively.
My Machine Wraiths sees an opening and prepares to feed the Toro to my Bane Warriors who receive him with open arms. I TK the Void Archon that was keeping Scaverous safe and charge his Void Archon, killing it with 1 attack to spare, which kills the Toro. The Hermit dies to some shots from Croe’s buddies and my own Void Archon finishes him off while catching an Angel and Servitor in the spray.
It’s getting harder to leverage my caster as I lost both my arc nodes, which is quite bad.
I end my turn with the score being 4-5.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 93865606_211286726840568_5423042088381972480_n.png
bottom of 3

Nemo recurs the models that died and comes to annoy me, Erebus takes heavy damage and gets pushed a lot from the shooting as well as some angelic charges, but because of Death Ward only loses an arm. His Void Archon is on a roll and I lose the rest of my Banes and own Void. Most of my Cutthroats also die and it’s looking grim.
In my turn I drop Death Ward, put up the Hermit’s aura and risk the unboosted 5 that I need to Skarlock to hit to bring up Nemo and turn him around. I had considered going for Telemetry instead, but I needed the -2 ARM to have a chance, so decided it was worth the risk. Scaverous charges in and burns through the sentient gate’s focus to bring him down. The Void Archon kills some Negation Angels and then goes back safely behind the wall to score the flag. Erebus tried to kill a model, but failed, so no souls for Scaverous. Good thing I didn’t need the rerolls.
The score goes to 8-8, but I’m out of steam and my opponent still has 2 heavies.

bottom of 4

My opponent mops up and I kill a bunch of models with a Thresher, which was fun, but not enough to swing the game back. I took the soul of the Ironhead, which I use to reroll the missed charge attack on my Void Archon, but it’s not enough and the Conservator lives.
In the end, the enemy Void Archon, with some help from Arcane Might, can easily kill my caster and I lose both by caster kill and scenario.

the end

Epilogue

I quite like the tools available in the list. Telekinesis is still as good a spell as any and Void Archons that threaten 14″, with a Wraith Engine that goes up to 16″, are scary. It’s not easy (i.e. almost impossible) to get souls to Scaverous, but it’s not a necessity and Erebus can be very annoying to deal with, even though he doesn’t deal that much damage, but that’s what the rest of the list is for.
I would maybe consider swapping out the Warriors or Knights, but I do like the potential for attrition that the Warriors bring.

What new jank will I try next time, you ask? Well, tune in and fine out!

Leave a comment