Fishcord Pick and Ban

Introduction

Fishcord’s latest event is a league-style Steamroller where you bring 3 lists and before the pairing process, you get to ban one of your opponent’s.
Then the fine folks over at Knightsmachine came up with an extra challenge: play random casters!

I was up for just trying some random stuff anyway, so that’s exactly what I did. I rolled Scaverous1, Deneghra1 and Goreshade3; the first and last are sufficiently janky, but Denny seemed a bit too strong to adhere to the jank challenge, so I rerolled her… and promptly ended up with Skarre1. After rerolling that girl again, I got Mortenebra1, whom I actually have no idea how to build lists for, but that’s part of the charm, I suppose…

List building

After satisfying my inner jank, I set out to build some lists. I figured I wanted to play Goreshade in Dark Host to recur Bane Riders, and use a Kraken as an Infernal Machine target. So I built a list with said Kraken, 2 units of Riders and 2 Void Archons.

While I do like playing Scaverous in Dark Host, I figured it would be a good time to put him in Black Industries, as my previous caster was already covering the Bane base. It’s always nice to have Deathjack here, as well as the Withershadow Combine, Asphyxious4 and Croe’s Cutthroats, and while we’re at it anyway, I could try out Malvin & Mayhem. However, points are tight and it was hard to have my cake and eat it too. I also didn’t get a Void Archon in this build.

Now that my other 2 are already in different themes, maybe I could give Mortenebra a whirl in Scourge of the Broken Coast. She does like having a decently sized battle group, but our heavies are rather squishy without Carapace, so I opted for a Kraken to trigger Overrun, along with a few Stalkers to threaten with. Asphyxious 4 seemed like a good include as well, bringing a more sturdy Mercenary jack and providing free targets for Sacrificial Lamb. I did run out of my points quickly to actually include some Gang Fighter triggers though.

After asking some fellow Cryxians for advice, I dialed in my expectations a little and tweaked the lists through a few iterations, ending up with the following.

Lists

Cryx
[Theme] Scourge of the Broken Coast

[Mortenebra 1] Master Necrotech Mortenebra [+24]
– Barathrum [15]
– Kharybdis [17]
– Stalker [8]
– Stalker [8]
– Stalker [8]
Warwitch Siren [0(4)]
Asphyxious the Sanctified [14]
– Toro [13]
Satyxis Blood Witches (min) [8]
– Satyxis Blood Hag [0(4)]
Scharde Pirates (min) [8]
– Scharde Pirate Officer [0(4)]

Cryx
[Theme] Dark Host

[Goreshade 3] Goreshade, Lord of Ruin [+27]
– Kraken [35]
Bane Lord Tartarus [0(6)]
Machine Wraith [0(2)]
Machine Wraith [0(2)]
Machine Wraith [0(2)]
Asphyxious the Sanctified [14]
– Stalker [8]
Bane Riders (max) [20]
Bane Warriors (min) [10]
– Bane Warrior Officer & Standard [0(5)]
Bane Warriors (min) [10]
– Bane Warrior Officer & Standard [5]

Cryx
[Theme] Black Industries

[Scaverous 1] Lord Exhumator Scaverous [+27]
– Deathjack [23]
– Deathripper [6]
– Seether [13]
– Doctor Stygius [0(4)]
Master Gurglepox [7]
Necrotech [2]
Void Archon [8]
Warwitch Siren [0(4)]
Asphyxious the Sanctified [14]
– Seether [13]
Croe’s Cutthroats (min) [10]
Mechanithralls (min) [6]
– Brute Thrall (3) [0(6)]

So, I didn’t end up quite where I started, and am saddened that I had to make some hard choices, such as not being able to take Malvin & Mayhem, but I do think the lists have most elements that they actually need to perform.

Not having a Kraken and still being low on models could get annoying with Mortenebra, but I get two solid heavies, 1 with a spray to benefit from Deryliss’ Tune Up, an Ambushing unit and Asphyxious with a Toro.
I didn’t manage to bring a second unit of Riders, nor Void Archons, with Goreshade, but what I have now is probably much better at attrition. The Archons were not likely to get a lot of souls before going in anyway.
As mentioned, not taking M&M with Scaverous feels like a missed opportunity, but it’s probably not worth the hefty price tag, nor the loss of the Void Archon. Now I also don’t have to deal with the fact that they’re not actually in Conflict Chamber (yet). Taking the min Cutthroats was a choice I had to make if I wanted the ambushing Mechanithralls. I’m not sure if it was the right one, but it does feel like a waste not to take them, so we’ll see.

Summary

So, while I did put some thoughts into making these lists, the objective is definitely mostly to just have fun and enjoy playing some jank. I’ll let you know how it all pans out.

Leave a comment