Belgian Masters XXXL

Introduction

The Belgian Masters XXX had transformed to an XXXL edition this year. There were multiple events per day with most of them offering 1 or more spots to compete in the invitational on Sunday.

I had a bought a bunch of casters to the event, of which I was planning of maining my Skarre 1 in DH, paired with whatever tickled my fancy. I had new lists with Goreshade 1 in Scourge and Scaverous in BI. There was another with Denny 1 in Scourge that I had played a few times and liked fairly well, and even had packed enough models to make a half-decent Asphyxious 3, in case I wanted to play in the Speed Machine event (18 minutes per player, 25 points battlegroup only), which I ended up not doing.
I didn’t feel like packing an extra huge base, so no Krakens or Denny/Skarre 3 builds this time. As it turns out, I didn’t play Denny 1, nor Asphyxious 3, as I was more interested in trying out some of the new lists, see how they performed, and there’s only so many games in a day.

The Titillating Threesome (team tournament)

The first day started with a 3-man team tournament, where the top team qualified. There was a simultaneous Champions event, for which I had packed Scaverous and my classic Skarre 1, but I had a pretty cool team, so we decided to compete in this event. My team mates were playing Issyria/Garryth2 and Zaal2/Rasheth.
I still ended up using the above pairing, because I expected Scaverous to be good against Retribution, as TK + Tridents = 😦
Skarre is playable in that matchup, but there are some blind spots that I would rather not have to deal with.

Round 1

Scaverous vs Asphyxious 3 BI
Anarchy

I lost the roll and my opponent chooses to let me go second, so he can run his jacks at me screaming and put pressure on me. I immediately let my Cutthroats Prey his caster to apply the pressure right back.

After he runs up, I check if I can run Gurglepox in range for an assassination, but I can’t, as a wall is right in the place where he wants to be. Instead I have Croe shoot at Asphyxious, in the hope of not having to deal with Mobility next turn, but he misses the needed 7. For the rest I just try to stay out of threat ranges, with Deathjack peeking from behind a building to avoid getting reeled in by Malice.

The turn after, he still hasn’t hidden his caster properly, so I go for it. Gurglepox runs in, Scaverous feats, lands a Telekinesis and (boosted) Feast of Worms. Then Deneghra’s Deathripper runs in and she also lands the Curse of Shadows. Then the Leviathan pumps in 2 more shots and the Hellbringer dies to a final Excarnate from Deathjack, before the Cutthroats even had to activate.

The rest of my team also wins their games and we go onto the next round.

I must say that this of course wasn’t the preferred matchup, but this is an opponent that I have ample opportunity to face anyway and neither of us felt like playing the Skarre mirror. So we both thought why not?

Round 2

Skarre 1 vs Agathon DL
King of the Hill

I win the roll and choose to go second, this gives me access to a building and some trenches on my side of the table.

Unfortunately I mess up my first turn because I was focusing too much on keeping Skarre out of threat from the Tormentors. Which means she was camping a lot, but out in the open, easy pickings for Agathon with his feat and a pile of rerolls from Eilish and Orin who was killing his own models.

After my quick loss, we decide to rerack, where I just place Skarre in the trench, behind a wall of Banes instead of in her undies. The grind is real and this list really shines on this scenario. Stalkers and Wraith Engines push hard on the flanks and I take 3 heavies on my feat turn, with Skarre hiding behind a house and bunkering behind Darragh. Here it’s actually worth feating on as many models as possible, especially the Knights, because about 3 of them can take down a heavy at P+S 19.

Once I take out the flanks, Infernals actually have a hard time recommitting, because they can only summon within 12″ of their caster. I spend a few turns healing Skarre back up and ride the scenario to a 5-0 win.

Because I lost, I’m counting on my team for the other 2 wins. They pull through and we go to the finals, for the coveted spot in the invitational.

Round 3

Skarre 1 vs Fiona I
Spread the Net

Normally I’m not too bothered against Mercenaries, but Holdemhigh is quite bad for Wraith Engines. I also couldn’t afford to drop Scaverous, in case I got stuck with Ossrum.

I lost the roll and get second turn, though the table wasn’t super important. My opponent immediately Preys a Wraith Engine, so I send them both wide to split up his forces.
My opponent messes up and is out of range to apply an ARM debuff on the Preyed Engine after befuddling it, which means the Cutthroats leave it alive by a wide margin after Harlowe shot it out of Incorporeal.
Dez is digging herself into holes while sneaking up the field. Fiona feats and sets herself up to score the back zone, but forgot to put a solo on the flag.

I don’t want to feat yet, as I only need the added damage for the heavies, which I won’t be killing this turn anyway. I just want to score a bit and take out annoying solos, Harlowe in particular. My opponent left a landing zone next to him, but I know he can counter charge to fill it up, even though the charge would bump into one of his own models. So I need to bait that to happen, then clear Widget on the other side of Holdemhigh and jump yet another Stalker into the created hole. Easy, right?
Well, I fuck it up royally and the dwarven pistoleer lives to shoot another day. Between Roth’s Mercy, the feat, and some horrible dice, I don’t really succeed in doing what I want to, except reducing the Cutthroats to 3 members and scoring my own zone. I even left 1 of the Kayazy on 1 hp after managing to hit it and boost damage with a Stalker.
I run a Stalker to the back zone to prevent his scoring, which actually turned out to be a pretty good idea as there wasn’t a lot there that could deal with it.

My opponent kills a bunch of stuff, but I get lucky and he misses Dez’s shot at Darragh, meaning he will be useful next turn. Mortal Fear also helps me quite a bit here. He considers going for an assassination on Skarre, who is hiding behind a forest and my theme cloud, but decides it’s too unlikely.
So I feat on about 10 models and go to town taking his heavies, Crosse, Harlowe, Alexia and some assorted solos, also scoring 3 points.

My opponent muddies around a bit, but I have a Wraith Engine that now owns the left flank and Skarre is nigh-untouchable right now, also because the one Kayazy Eliminator that he can use to get close enough to use as an arc node has only 1 hp left, so he only has 1 shot. Clock is running low and he doesn’t see a way to win, so shakes my hand.

We had 1 other win in the team, which was decided in the last few seconds, so we qualified for the invitational already, though it was a real nail biter.

Honestly, with Harlowe threatening 24″ with Ossrum and cycling of Fire for Effect on the battle engines, I’m not even sure if Fiona was the best drop against me.
My opponent wanted to try the Skarre/Ossrum matchup, but it was already getting late, as we only started in the afternoon, so we decide to grab a bite to eat instead.

The Alabama Steamer (Steamroller 2019)

A classic 4/5-round steamroller, depending on if the pairdown wins or loses in the fourth round. It turned out that only 4 rounds were going to be needed, but I was still excited to get a bunch of games in today.
For this event I paired my go-to Skarre 1 with Goreshade 1.

Round 1

Skarre 1 vs Maelok BC
Invasion

I lost the roll and got to go second, which is honestly not too bad as it means I get to score first. This game was mostly a classic grind fest, so I’ll go over the highlights.

Maelok feats first after which I counter feat, again feating on some Knights to make sure I have enough punch. Stalkers under the feat are quite good here because they ignore the 2 ARM from Death Pact.
A string of some pretty bad rolls makes it so I don’t score as much as I would like, because I leave 1 Posse alive in the left zone and a Bone Swarm in the middle. It must be said that it was my Stalkers that failed me, while the (feated) Knights all one-shot their charge targets (needing 11).
This means I only score 2-0 rather than 4-0 and leave more Posse alive than should’ve been, meaning the grind eventually shifts against me.

Darragh wasn’t super useful after lines had closed because Mortal Fear does nothing against this list. The Gatorman Husks were pretty annoying as you need to play around both their spray and the explosion; they cost me a few Knights. His Soul Slave was also gold because (fully boosted) Venom and Mortality are great spells to cast.
Over the course of the game I continuously fail to clear the left zone, even between Stalkers, a Wraith Engine and some Knights, so I fall more and more behind, which ended the game at 4-7 in my opponent’s favor at the bottom of turn 7. We both had about 15 seconds left at that point, but I only had a Wraith Engine and my caster left, where he had almost a full unit of Posse in the middle zone and some support.

After the game it was pointed out to me that at one point I had an opportunity to send the remaining Wraith Engine in on a 0-camp Maelok. Due to time constraints I actually hadn’t noticed it during the game, so I wasn’t quite sure if he would’ve been in range, but it might’ve been an out that I should’ve taken.

This was a great game against a good opponent and so there is no shame in losing such a tight match. I guess it’s time to sub-marine to the 3-1?

Round 2

Goreshade 1 vs Baldur 1 DH
Anarchy

I won the roll and chose the sides with as little forests as possible. There was a large building in the zone on my left and a large forest on my right, which protected both sides somewhat from my Ambush. The Blood Trackers enjoyed skirmishing with my Marauders around the building the whole game.

Our heavies were mostly in a standoff the whole game while I kept my feat in reserve. Barathrum eventually ate a charge of a full unit of Ravagers, after which I used Goreshade himself and some of his Banes to clear them out. I was relatively safe as his heavies were too far, while Kharybdis was giving them the stink eye. I eventually used Soul Gate to reposition Kharybdis to between the Marauders

It’s worth noting that the Void Archon survived a smacking from the Lord of the Feast, but my Blood Priestess was not so lucky. After that, Goreshade personally went to whack the avatar of the Wurm, so the Archon, gorged on the souls of the fallen Satyxis, could charge and one-shot Caul, boost the attack roll to also make Brighid disappear, and then teleport next to some Blood Pack, killing 3 of them with the spray. A turn well spent.
The rest of my Raiders on that side then proceeded to fumble around with the last of the Blood Pack, failing to score me that zone, then were killed to a woman by the ambushing Bloodweavers, who then in turn got surprised by my own Blood Witches.

I had a couple of poor turns, failing to get ahead on scenario, but after I cleared out the Ravagers, Goreshade was mostly safe and my opponent had lost a lot to the remaining Banes and Kharybdis. He eventually clocked out while starting to lose the attrition game.

Round 3

Skarre 1 vs Harbinger FM
King of the Hill

My “favorite” matchup, on my actually favorite scenario. I won the rolloff and proceed to give Harbinger the side with a bunch of buildings so he has to make hard choices with the Judicator. She made the arguably worst choice by putting it on the side where it would be least relevant due to a building close to the deployment zone. The other side was held down by the Avatar. A Champion and Initiates on each side, the rest mostly in the middle, where the round zone was cut off by a large building slanted to my left.

I of course promptly decide to push as hard as possible on my left, where he also has his objective. If I can just clear that and score a few times, there’s no way Harbinger can keep up, especially with the only problematic model, the Judicator, being on the other side, and the Archons being in the middle.
The middle building is also positioned perfectly to put a model just behind it to contest the flag and zone.

This game is literally the dream against Harbinger and I can’t even say that I feel sorry. My opponent panics a little and actually lets me take both of the outside units of Initiates (a feated Stalker, jumping B2B with the front 2, kills the whole unit on average, if you boost the first damage roll under feat)
I also kill the Avatar and his objective and start shifting my unit of Knights also to the left, behind the cover of the building.
I gave him an easy Rebuke on my right unit of Knights, which I have really got to stop doing. Lucky for me, they didn’t really have a role on that side anyway, just cannon fodder to keep the Judicator occupied.

I kill the Champion on my left and slant hard, scoring a lot and wheeling my Knights around the building. The Wraith Engine on the right just stands in the zone being Incorporeal, eating a few non-charges from the remaining Champion.

I end up winning 6-1 on scenario.

The fact that Harbinger felt forced to stay in the middle and I could go super wide, really shifted the scenario in my favor. I was literally hugging the board edge with some models at some point while my opponent was struggling to have a somewhat relevant feat and Martyrdom.
I feel like this is the only situation where I actually am at an advantage in this matchup, so I was glad that it played out like this.

Round 4

Goreshade 1 vs Garryth 2 DoI
Spread the Net

This game was actually quite interesting. I knew that Skarre had a decent game into this, but theoretically, Goreshade could do fine as well. This was against yesterday’s team mate and I knew that he wouldn’t expect Goreshade, so thought why not. To be honest, I was also kind of expecting Issyria, which could deal quite well with the Skarre game, so didn’t want to risk that either.
He was playing the latter with Tridents and a bunch of Halberdiers, so all the chain weapons in the Scourge list seemed like a good option.

I won the roll off this time and took the side where I had more things to hide in, such as a large trench and a very large forest about in the middle of the table.

My opponent went wide with both Tridents and keeps Garryth near his rectangular zone, with the AFG in the middle.
During the game, he manages to one-round both heavies with Tridents, due to some fairly high rolls. He loses the left Trident to an Ambush, that he was expecting, but he didn’t account for the fact that, when all Blood Witches arrive, they kill a Trident through the shield on average, which they did.
The other Trident survives far too long against the Raiders, which were eventually even backed up by the feat Banes, but still failed to kill. In return he killed many models by shooting his battle engine in the back with Electromancers, but stops when he gets it down to 5 hp due to not getting the shield bonus and being affected by Dark Shroud, oops. I then finally take it out.

The forest in the middle and Garryth feeling the need to camp his zone to keep it clear of contesters really helped me to circumvent the feat, not to mention it kept me safe from actually getting shot to death. The Marauders getting Prowl from Axiara also blunted the impact of the feat quite a bit.
The Blood Witches were instrumental in contesting the back zone for a while and the Warwitch Siren could contest the back flag for a few turns from the cover of a building.
At the start, I really felt the need to stay out of range of Moros, but eventually got more daring after he was taken out, Goreshade himself even charged a jack to get his feat further up.

We eventually end the game with me being 10-6 ahead on scenario and my opponent having lost both tridents and most of his battle group. The AFG was still going strong, as it’s pretty much untouchable by my list, but it was very much hindered by the forest.
My opponent is very low on time at this point and ends up clocking.

I feel like this list actually has all the tools needed to play into the Retribution matchup, and had I not lost my heavies so easily, they, especially Kharybdis would really do a number on the battle engines, especially with Soul Gating it back to safety. So, I’m quite pleasantly surprised by that.
The Marauders, as usual, provide an excellent versatile attrition anchor to the list, especially after I can take out the arc node, because Garry has better things to do than put Mortality on them.
Oh, and I should mention that I’m really enjoying not seeing Eiryss everywhere, now that the Hermit has replaced her as an auto-include in Defenders.

The Golden Tooth Party (invitational)

So, despite my 3-1 the previous day, we had already qualified for this event during the initial team tournament. It’s quite exciting to be here, in the ultimate finals of the con. My opponents from the third round of the first day, and last round of the second were also qualified. The latter of course from the same team tournament that I had qualified through.
It’s worth noting that the side event for the day was planned fairly simultaneously, so dropping wasn’t really a productive option, even should you lose, as very little else would be going on anyway.

For this event, I swapped back to my Scaverous pair for Skarre 1 of the first day, which was actually a mistake as it turns out, as Goreshade would’ve probably done better against Exalted.

Round 1

Skarre 1 vs Rasheth E
Invasion

I win the roll and decide to go first to put as much pressure as possible. This may have been a mistake, as the side my opponent took, was ideal for putting a model right between the objective and the build in the middle zone, which meant that I had a very hard time getting to his Agonizer.

I have a few poor rolls on my feat turn which leaves me to score the right zone and kill his objective, but leave 1 model alive, that kept rolling Tough, in the left zone as well as the aforementioned Agonizer. I score 2 points and that is immediately the only points I will ever score on this scenario. Rasheth counter feats and goes to town.

I can use the Knights’ mini-feat to stave off some of the Vengeance attacks but during the activation they can just go Incorporeal to ignore everything. I start losing many things, and my rolls don’t get much better, though I did kill a DEF 16 Extoller with a single Knight, so there’s that.

I can’t get enough work done and eventually the Supreme Gentlemen can use Thresher on about 7 of my models, which is very painful, for me. At the very end I have basically nothing left and I hadn’t even succeeded in fully destroying 1 unit. The score ends at 2-9.

Round 2

Skarre 1 vs Cyrenia FM
King of the Hill

My opponent wanted some Cyrenia reps and he was up for trying it against Skarre. Let’s be honest, Skarre loves this scenario and I’m not liking my Scaverous chances, so that’s what I was going to drop in any case anyway.
I win the roll and decide to go first, my opponent in turn picks the side where he can build a wall just between a building and another wall in the center zone, for the Avatar to hide behind.

I fan out with a Wraith Engine and Stalker on each side and push as hard as possible. My opponent actually played well and gave me just enough to feat on the top of 2. Anything less and I would’ve waited, anything more and and I would’ve taken too much. I feat on 2 Knights or so, all the Stalkers and Wraith Engines. The Avatar’s Gaze was annoying, but not insurmountable and I ding up a good few things as well as eat some Initiates.
I take about half of the Sanctifiers boxes, and try to keep my Wraith Engine away from it, for now.

The unit of Knights on my right start circling around the house and I kill both Allegiants on that side with a Stalker each. The Knights make sure that retaliation will cost my opponent and that would be difficult to begin with because of a patch of rubble there. My Wraith Engine just chills in the right zone, which will be impossible to contest.
In retaliation my opponent kills some things, but not even that much, letting the score go to 0-1.
On my turn I can kill his objective, but can’t score the zone because of the Champion that succeeded in 5 consecutive Tough rolls. I still score the zone on the right and take out most of the Initiates and the Champion on that side. I also manage to capture the flag and the score goes to 0-4.
The zone on the left is so full of models while the right side of the table has basically nothing left, so I start shifting Skarre there to just ride out the game.

Next turn my opponent scores a point, but can’t contest my zone, so the score goes to 1-5 and I win on my turn as long as I contest.

Cyrenia has a decent game here, but not as good as Harbinger and suffers from the same weakness that she can’t really spread out far enough to counter my list on King of the Hill. Positive Charge and Rock Wall are cute tricks though.

Round 3

Scaverous vs Garryth 2 DoI (again, I don’t remember what the last few points were)
Recon II

I’m 1-1 now so I thought what the hell and wanted to try Scaverous into Retribution. I won the roll and decided to go second to get my opponent stuck with the buildings again. In hindsight this was probably a mistake as it meant I couldn’t really hide Scaverous well enough.

On my left I have Deathjack and the Hermit in a large trench. Gurglepox and the Shrike going up the flank. Scaverous is in the middle and Deneghra with her Leviathan and node, as well as the Cutthroats and Scaverous’ Deathripper are on the right.
This leaves Scaverous out in the open a little, which isn’t ideal and which is why I actually move back in my first turn.

My opponent pushes hard with his 2 Tridents on my right flank and abuses his Electromancers on turn 2 to kill some Cutthroats off of it, even though I left them out of threat of the Tridents themselves. He also feats on this turn.

Since there is a big building the middle, I can commit on the right side and just dawdle a bit on the left. So on the left I have Gurglepox run far, under the cover of obstruction and the Shrike, who is out of control at this point, can just trample for free behind a building but still contesting the zone.
I feat and turn both Tridents towards the side, where I also just ambushed my Mechanithralls. I toss out a Feast of Worms on 1 of them which I boost on damage. So, now I’m empty, after upkeeping Deathward on the Leviathan and Soul Harvester on the Shrike. I was out of charge range of Moros, but it was still a bad idea, as it turns out.
Deneghra launches a Curse of Shadows at the other Dawnmower after allocating 1 to the Leviathan. The Mechanithralls take some shots from the Electromancers, but some clever use of Shield Guard and the opponent missing some sixes, have most of them arrive. Surprisingly, with Combo-Strikes and the debuffs, they take out both battle engines, so the Leviathan and Hellslinger are free to kill 5 Electromancers and Syliss between them.
The remaining 4 Cutthroats didn’t even get to do anything.
I score 2 points and my opponent scores nothing.

I’m feeling pretty good about myself, but do realise the danger I’m in. Garry upkeeps Road to War and kills something random with another model, after which my opponent moves him from behind the building to within aim range of Scaverous, which I though was quite generous, so I ask him to remeasure and we agree that he doesn’t quite get there.
Here is where I make another mistake as the Eye of Vengeance then moves up, boosts a shot at Scaverous and casts Mortality with his last 3 focus. I of course forgot to increase that cost by 1 due to my own feat.
The cricket then manages to knock me down and the rest of his battle group (read: pretty much everything he had left) easily kills me.

I definitely made a couple of major mistakes here. The first being that I didn’t take the side with more cover for myself. There was a big trench on the side I took, but that part of the field was otherwise open.
The second, and probably worst, was getting greedy. I could’ve dropped my upkeeps, cast Death Ward on myself for 1, because the Leviathan was not going to get shot up on that side of the table anymore anyway, and not cast FoW, so I could comfortably camp 3 at ARM 19 and lived. I guess I overestimated the need for more force multipliers to kill the Tridents.
Then the third was forgetting to apply my feat on his spells, but it probably wouldn’t have matter that much at the point.

I would like to point out that Gurglepox is pretty cool in this list, as he can run wherever you want, even outside control, unlike a regular Cryxian arc node, and then your caster can just move to be able to arc afterwards.

Other

The weekend was packed full with events, but I skipped most of the late night ones in favor of grabbing dinner and some shut eye.

I did get a demo of Marvel: Crisis Protocol, which was quite enjoyable, but definitely more as a beer and pretzels game rather than to scratch my competitive itch. Seeing Hulk smash and then toss Venom into Zemo was fun, until he got blasted by the cosmic cube.
I also have a tendency to roll terribly on non-standard dice (Crisis Protocol uses custom D8s), which kind of detracts from the fun.

Summary

So, if I don’t count the times that I got stupidly assassinated, Skarre 1 is still undefeated on King of the Hill, the undisputed Pirate Queen of the Hill, if you will.
I’m still really liking this list in a lot of the current meta, but I feel like it does have some weaknesses, especially when the scenario is more central, such as Recon II.
The other lists actually performed quite nicely and I like both of them. They are slightly off-meta, but did what they were supposed to do.

Scourge is always a good theme, that can support itself and Goreshade with Lamentation, Shadow Mancer, Soul Gate and a Bane feat can be a real headache for the opponent, even though he doesn’t really support the troops in this list. What was annoying is the lack of threat extenders though; when the heavies get pushed back, you lose the advantage of trading up all the time.
Scaverous on the other hand, as a lot of moving parts, but the list contains a lot of tools that can be useful in any given situation. The low model count means you have to be cautious though.

Neither feels like the best pair to this particular Skarre 1 list though, as they’re not super good at attrition. Goreshade should be playable against Exalted, but I didn’t get a proper test to confirm.

To be honest, I don’t really want to play Skarre again at the WTC this year, but so far it’s definitely the best list I’ve got.

The event itself was excellent. Everything went very smooth, there was cool price support (beer and models), the venue was great and spacious and the fact that it was a business hotel meant we had everything within reach to survive the weekend.
I’m for one am looking forward to the next edition!

Bonus

I played this round at an another event a while ago, but I didn’t get around to posting the whole event. I already had this part finished though, so I figured I might as well give it to you now, as it was quite an interesting game.

Rahera vs Rahn FoW (/Issyria DoI)
Bunkers

I felt like Rahera had a decent enough game into Issyria so wanted to drop her to see if my hunch was somewhat correct. To my surprise my opponent dropped Rahn.
I win the rolloff, decide to go first, and get the side with a wall near my objective. There is also a largeish obstruction slightly off to the right of the middle.

I pick the Dugout objective so Rahn can’t hurt me and live behind the wall the whole game.
My Kraken deploys off to the left and will hopefully receive backup from the Blood Witches at some point, who go in Ambush. Marauders in the middle and Boarding Party to the right to circle around the obstruction. The Stalker also goes right, because my opponent isn’t too strong there.

First turns is just the usual running up. My opponent wasn’t paying too much attention and he accidentally put the Phoenix behind a wall, but in charge range of 6 Blood Witches from the Ambush. So the Phoenix dies and there are now a bunch of horny ladies hanging out behind a wall in my opponent’s back line. A few Battlemages on that side die to Kraken fire. The Stalker on the other side, after Eiryss ran off, doesn’t take the bait to go in on the Artificer and the rest of my army just moves up under Rough Seas.

top of 1

My opponent moves up Helios because he realises he will never get to Rahera, who is behind a wall and in range of the objective, and also because the walking threat of the Kraken under Escort is always more than its own charge range, so I can always get to it, despite Polarity Shield from Rahn. He kills 3 Marauders and sets a few on fire. The Battlemages and an Artificer duke it out with the Blood Witches.
On my turn I use Vengeance to get some Marauders close to Helios, but they fail to do any damage. It’s time to get Krakin’.
Gorman is still alive so tosses a Rust Bomb at the opposing colossal after the Kraken gets allocated full focus. Rahera forgoes Rough Seas this turn in favor of Manifest Destiny and the Kraken walks up and starts wailing on poor Helios at effective P+S 23 under Manifest Destiny. To both our surprises, I end up one rounding it after some decent dice rolls, which appears to be about 40% odds. Regardless, I still had some charges left from the Marauders if need be.
The Kill Shot takes out a couple of solos that were huddled up in his rectangular zones. The Marauders are now free to ding up some of the other Myrmidons and to contest the zone.

Next turn my opponent feats, but doesn’t actually get a lot of work done anymore for lack of models. Even the Boarding Party, who still need to weather a mostly intact unit of Battlemages, come out mostly scot-free. After that the game is mostly over and I end up winning 8-1 on scenario.

I was honestly very surprised at getting this matchup, because I didn’t feel like Rahn had a lot of game into either of my lists, while Issyria can always brute force it. My opponent attributed his choice to hardly being awake.

Leave a comment